Category Archives: Databases

Spotlight on.. O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform

by Haydn Clark The O’Reilly Learning Platform is an online resource that provides you access to a huge amount of resources.  It will give you access to over thirty-five thousand different e-books and over thirty thousand hours of videos that … Continue reading

Posted in Databases | Comments Off on Spotlight on.. O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform

Spotlight on.. Social Work Toolkit

Social Work Toolkit really is a fantastic resource for students on the Social Work and Youth and Community degree programmes. 5 key modules The Toolkit includes resources specifically for students, coving 5 key modules: Communication Skills; Ethics, Values and Diversity; Professionalism … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Research | Tagged | Leave a comment

The British Standards Institution are adding a new security feature to their documents

What’s happening to BSI documents?The British Standards Institution (BSI) is improving the digital security of it’s documents.To do this it is adding an extra layer of security to the documents it provides access to.The BSI will be introducing a new … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Library Impact, Library Services information, Research, Uncategorised | Tagged , , , , , | Comments Off on The British Standards Institution are adding a new security feature to their documents

Emerald is changing… and we like what we see!

Emerald is moving to a new interface on the 30th June, which we think will provide an even better experience for our students and staff.   New features include: Clean and uncluttered interface, with new fonts and colours that make it … Continue reading

Posted in Databases | Tagged | Comments Off on Emerald is changing… and we like what we see!

Westlaw is changing how it will look in July.

One of our key legal databases is having a face-lift, and in this case we like what we see! There are some good things for students: Greater promotion of Topic pages (the new version of Insight) as the way to … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Library Services information | Tagged | Comments Off on Westlaw is changing how it will look in July.

Stay up-to-date on all the latest in business and technology with our new online resource

The O’Reilly Safari Learning Platform (formerly Safari Technical Books Online) gives students and staff access to a variety of formats including online training courses, interactive tutorials, books, videos, and case studies. Subjects covered include: design, gaming, software development, programming languages, … Continue reading

Posted in Databases | Tagged , , , | Comments Off on Stay up-to-date on all the latest in business and technology with our new online resource

Library Research finds that the quality and quantity of research sources appears to impact on dissertation marks.

The quality and quantity of research sources appears to impact on dissertation marks. Julia Sherrington, Academic Liaison Librarian for Art, recently undertook some investigations into the types of sources being used in dissertations within the School of Arts.  She looked … Continue reading

Posted in Databases, Library Services information | Tagged , | Comments Off on Library Research finds that the quality and quantity of research sources appears to impact on dissertation marks.

IBISWorld gives students an edge in job interviews

You may have already used IBIS World to find industry information such as trends, forecasts and statistics – but did you know that it might also help you in preparing for an interview? Companies always like to see applicants who … Continue reading

Posted in Current Awareness, Databases | Tagged , | Comments Off on IBISWorld gives students an edge in job interviews

Trial of Statista

We are currently trialling a database called Statista.  This trial will run to mid-February and we welcome any feedback on it from students and staff. The trial will only work on campus so please log on using the college wifi. … Continue reading

Posted in Databases | Tagged , | Comments Off on Trial of Statista

Using Britannica to research World War One

For our November #ResourceOfTheMonth we are promoting Britannica Academic. This is a brilliant resource for all levels of study but particularly good for students who want to find a concise, comprehensive account of a topic they are unfamiliar with.  Britannica … Continue reading

Posted in Databases | Tagged | Comments Off on Using Britannica to research World War One